Gargoyle Magazine

The past 7 months have been horrific.
I'm taking a hiatus.
We are not considering manuscripts.
Current projects will be completed
over the next year but
there are no plans beyond 2017
at this time.

Just Passing Through

poems by M. Scott Douglas

Not Quite Ocean

Selected Poems of John Elsberg

You can read the review by Richard Allen Taylor of Not Quite Ocean: Selected Poems of John Elsberg by visiting The Pedestal Magazine.

Abundant Grace,
the 7th and final volume of
the "Grace & Gravity Series" is now available.

The Abundant Grace launch at
Unstable Arts Gallery, Middleburg, VA
on Saturday Dec. 3, 2016.

Madelyn Rosenberg, host Marci Nadler, and Richard Peabody.

Above Left: Madelyn Rosenberg and Marci Nadler.
Above Right: Madelyn Rosenberg with Richard Peabody.

Pam Risdon relaxes while reading.

Some photos from the Abundant Grace launch, at Politics and Prose Bookstore in Washington DC on Sunday Nov. 20th, 2016.

Editor Richard Peabody waxing eloquent about the Grace and Gravity series and the women writers in the book.

Politics and Prose co-founder Barbara Meade at the podium giving me a gracious introduction. I first met her back in the days when she ran The Bookstall in Potomac, MD with Hugo Rizzoli.
Left to Right: Caroline Langston, Fiona J. Mackintosh, Atossa Shafaie, and Debra Lattanzi Shutika.

Above Left: Melissa Scholes Young at the podium.
Above Right: The brilliant Amber Sparks moderating Questions and Answers.

Jourdan Woo at the podium.
Left to Right: Caroline Langston, Fiona J. Mackintosh, and Atossa Shafaie.

Left to Right: Kelly Ann Jacobson, Jourdan Woo, Morowa Yejide, Caroline Langston, and Fiona J. Mackintosh.

Amber Sparks with the microphone.
Left to Right: Kelly Ann Jacobson, Jourdan Woo, Morowa Yejide.

Left to Right: Kelly Ann Jacobson, Jourdan Woo, Morowa Yejide, Caroline Langston, Fiona J. Mackintosh, Atossa Shafaie, Debra Lattanzi Shutika, and Melissa Scholes Young.

Paycock Press presents two new collections of short stories by DC natives

Paycock Press has released two exciting new publications: Flying Home: Seven Stories of the Secret City by David Nicholson and Open Country: A Civil War Novel in Stories by Jeff Richards. Purchase information will be available shortly.

A new review of Flying Home is up at Washington City Paper:

http://www.washingtoncitypaper.com/articles/47279/david-nicholsons-flying-home-seven-stories-of-the-secret-city/

And here's a link to the first review:

http://jonettarosebarras.com/?p=3939

What else is being said about Flying Home:

“Simply astonishing. I recommend this as a book to read, to lend, to teach, and to return to; it is beautifully written.” —Kelly Cherry

“A series of absorbing stories, captured for the reader in a linguistical version of Cinemascope, along with a most playful riff on Ralph Ellison’s narrative style. Intimate yet wide-angled, imaginative and probing. . .” —Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

“David Nicholson is such a gifted, assured storyteller that I read Flying Home in a single sitting, pulled from one beautifully written, wise, and moving story to the next, so enchanted by the lives he explores in the ‘secret city,’ and by his skill, that I was unaware of the passage of time. This is superbly crafted, memorable writing that will leave readers hungering for more.” —Charles Johnson, National Book Award-winning author of Middle Passage

For more reflections on Flying Home and photos from recent author events, click on the cover image above or here: http://gargoylemagazine.com/books/paycock/flying_home.php

Open Country 

What's being said about Open Country:

“Jeff Richards draws on the moments of intimate happenstance that so marked this peculiar war, in which whole histories shifted in quiet entanglements in thickets and creek beds, and a single line of a banjo tune might speak simultaneously of a loved one both arriving and departing.” —Steve Amick, Nothing But a Smile

“It would be tempting to discuss Open Country purely in terms of it being a Civil War novel. But to substitute the setting for the ideas and the emotional truths would not do justice to Jeff Richards’ book. That would be too easy. Instead, Open Country strips the circumstances of the war down to its most human level. It is about people trying to make sense of a world suddenly turned inside out. It is about having to make choices in which all decisions may be wrong. It is a place and time where loyalty and trust no longer follow convention. And, most of all, the novel is about the need to find hope when it’s hard to believe hope can still exist. Yes, Jeff Richards’ Open Country may take place during the Civil War, but at its heart the novel shares the drama of human experience as though it is taking place right outside your door. It could be you. It could be me.” —Adam Braver, Mr. Lincoln’s Wars

“In the tradition of Isaac Babel’s Red Cavalryand Tim O’Brien’s The Things They Carried, Jeff Richards’ Open Country is a powerful, brutal, beautiful book of stories linked by war and the soldiers struggling to survive amidst its horrors. We follow Blues and Grays, wives and widows, worried mothers and grieving fathers, the doomed and the redeemed, the victorious and the condemned. This extraordinary book about the American Civil War offers both the concision of the well-made story and the sweep of the epic. A remarkable achievement.” —Porter Shreve, The End of the Book

“The true value of a good novel, especially one written in another place and time, is whether or not it makes you believe you are there. As in great dramatic acting in film or theatre, do you empathize with the characters and are they authentic? Jeff Richards accomplishes that in his short, but epic novel, Open Country. Artfully written and musical in its cadence, I could hear the soundtrack as I read. Stark and tragic and as rustic as the hardtack and whiskey in its story, Open Country is a must read, lest we forget.” —Jimmy Thackery of Jimmy Thackery and the Drivers, Wide Open (CD)

“The Civil War was America’s bitterest family quarrel, and Jeff Richards’s stories gracefully place the huge events of the war into human context. Anyone who loves the American story will treasure these stories as well.” —Garrett Epps, The Shad Treatment

“Open Country is a meticulously researched novel about the Civil War and its harrowing effects on families. Here are nineteen stories of Rebel ‘butternuts’ and Yankee ‘bluebellies’ who, despite being on opposing sides of battle, are also cousins, fathers and sons, brothers. Jeff Richards has written a moving meditation on the ways we can be made to ignore the humanity of those we see as enemies. As one character says, ‘Sad thing when two old comrades come to blows.’

“The moral complexities of duty to a cause versus family ties are vividly revealed thanks to the book’s authentic recreation of language, weaponry, dress, food, and mores of the time. Any Civil War buff will find this a fascinating read.” —Donna Baier Stein, author of Sympathetic People

“With unflinching honesty, Jeff Richards leads us through the horror and fervor of the Civil War, giving us both Confederate and Yankee perspectives. We join ranks with young soldiers and their loved ones as they experience the stunned sorrow of loss, the loyalty of friendship, and the gentle grasp of love. Richards lulls yet agitates the heart as the war shapes each character.” — Melanie S. Hatter, author of The Color of My Soul

Gargoyle gear! The holidays are coming – surprise your friends with Gargoyle T-shirts, mugs, clocks, lunchboxes, etc.!Gargoyle gear

 

 

links atticus books Richard Peabody Mondo Lucinda Ebersole Gargoyle Catalog paycock Use this image map to navigate our site

| Paycock | Catalog | Gargoyle | Lucinda | Mondo | Richard | Atticus | Links